Vuelta starts in Puerto Banus today

After yesterday’s controversy  the Vuelta 2015, will finally start today

South African team MTN-QHUBEKA has the honour of being first out at 18.48 and the 22 teams competing will leave at five minute intervals with the last, Katusha, heading out at at 20:33. National TV station TVE will broadcast the event for neraly two hours from 19:00, using seven helicopters for the coverage.

This year marks the Tour’s 80th birthday, and conditions are set to be it will be hot.

Riders to watch include Alejandro Valverde of Movistar at 20:23 hours and Tour de France winner Chris Froome and the Sky team at 20.28.

It is estimated that the seafront course will be covered in just over seven minutes. Safety concerns voiced yesterday mean that the Marbella stage will not count to the overall result of the Vuelta, athough the fastest rider today will be allowed to wear the coveted red jersey of Vuelta leader.

Police presence is high in Marbella for the event, with several roads in Puerto Banus closed and there were reports of heavy traffic congestion.
Starting order:
18:53 Team Colombia
18:58 FDJ
19:03 Blanco Pro Cycling Team
19:08 AG2R La Mondiale
19:13 Cannondale-Garmin
19:18 IAM Cycling
19:23 Cofidis
19:28 Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
19:33 Team Europcar
19:38 Orica-GreenEdge
19:43 Trek Factory Racing
19:48 Tinkoff-Saxo
19:53 Team Giant-Alpecin
19:58 Etixx-Quick Step
20:03 Lotto-Soudal
20:08 Lampre-Merida
20:13 BMC Racing Team
20:18 Team Astana
20:23 Movistar Team
20:28 Team Sky
20:33 Team Katusha

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Related Posts

best pool cleaner